Skip to main content
Metro Tunnel

New underground stations

Melbourne will be home to five stunning new landmarks when the underground stations for the Metro Tunnel open in 2025.

Designs for the stations combine functionality, space and natural light with the latest in public transport infrastructure design and will deliver the best passenger experience.

Victorians have helped name the Metro Tunnel’s new underground rail stations. The station names clearly reflect their location and will ensure passengers can easily identify where they are on the rail network.

Our new stations

North Melbourne Station


Located in the heart of North Melbourne, near the corner of Arden Street and Laurens Street.

Parkville Station


The station under Grattan Street, near the corner of Royal Parade, is named after the world-renowned health, research and education precinct it will service.

State Library Station

State Library

Located under Swanston Street between La Trobe Street and Franklin Street, directly across from the State Library, the station is named after this iconic centre of learning and culture. The State Library is Australia's oldest and busiest public library and one of Victoria’s most important institutions. Its forecourt provides one of the CBD’s most popular meeting places.

Town Hall Station

Town Hall

The station under Swanston Street between Collins Street and Flinders Street is named after the nearby Melbourne Town Hall – the civic heart of our city. The station’s new City Square entrance will directly face the Town Hall across Collins Street.

Anzac Station


Located underneath St Kilda Road on the edge of the Shrine of Remembrance Reserve, this station honours the Anzac spirit of military service and sacrifice. Built in 1934, the Shrine is one of Victoria's most popular tourist destinations and the focal point for Anzac Day and other significant annual commemorations.

Naming process

In August 2017, the Premier gave all Victorians the unique opportunity to write themselves into history by suggesting names for the five new Metro Tunnel stations.

The extraordinary response resulted in more than 50,000 suggestions over eight weeks.

Approximate suggestions per station

  • Arden: 9,000
  • Parkville: 10,800
  • State Library: 11,000
  • Town Hall: 10,000
  • Anzac: 9,700

An advisory panel representing diverse views assessed all the suggestions and compiled a shortlist of names for the Victorian Government to consider. The names chosen by Government were among the most popular suggestions for each station. All names had to meet the naming rules for place in Victoria (external link).