Skip to main content
Metro Tunnel

Indicative route

About this video

This video shows the alignment of the Metro Tunnel overlaid on aerial footage of Melbourne and the surrounding suburbs.

The twin tunnels will each be nine kilometres long, and will travel alongside each other from Kensington to South Yarra via Swanston Street in the CBD.

Rail tunnel entrances will be built in Kensington in the vicinity of South Kensington station, to connect in with the Sunbury line, and in South Yarra to the south of Toorak Road, to connect in with the Cranbourne / Pakenham line.

Five new stations will be constructed: a new North Melbourne Station (the existing North Melbourne Station to be renamed West Melbourne), Parkville Station, two city stations at each end of Swanston Street, and Anzac Station on St Kilda Road near the Shrine of Remembrance.