Skip to main content
Metro Tunnel

New underground stations

Melbourne will be home to five stunning new landmarks when the underground stations for the Metro Tunnel open in 2025.

Designs for the stations combine functionality, space and natural light with the latest in public transport infrastructure design and will deliver the best passenger experience.

North Melbourne Station

North Melbourne

The new North Melbourne Station, situated near the corner of Arden Street and Laurens Street will trigger significant urban renewal in the precinct.

Parkville Station


Parkville Station under Grattan Street will provide access to facilities such as the University of Melbourne, the Royal Melbourne Hospital and the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre.

State Library Station

State Library

State Library Station will provide easy access to RMIT, the State Library and the City Baths, and include an underground pedestrian connection to Melbourne Central Station.

Town Hall Station

Town Hall

Town Hall Station will have entrances at City Square and Federation Square and a connection with Flinders Street Station, bringing people into the heart of the CBD.

Anzac Station


Anzac Station will improve access to the St Kilda Road employment and residential precinct and to some of Melbourne’s most treasured public spaces, such as the Royal Botanic Gardens, Albert Park and the Shrine of Remembrance.

Development Plans

Development Plans

The Station Precinct Development Plans describe the proposed designs for the station entrances and surrounds.

Metro Tunnel map

Map of the Melbourne Metro Rail Project alignment Parkville State Library Town Hall Anzac North Melbourne